Shop now at Waterstones
Adventure, crime & thrillers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top Rated Product

Kensuke's Kingdom

Washed up on an island in the Pacific, this book struggles to survive on his own. It tells the classic story of love overcoming differences.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 10(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kensuke's Kingdom
Review 1 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lozzy
Age 13
08 May 2011
I had to read this book in school two years ago, but I wouldn't have wanted to otherwise, and I thought it was boring and poorly written - and I usually like Michael Morpurgo's books. Sure it had a touching message, but seriously, a dog named after alcohol?
Review 2 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sammmy
Location:Buckingham, England
Age:12
Couldn't Put It Down!
16 April 2010
This is a great book! I've read it twice; once at school, and again at home! To be honest, you have to read this book, it is the greatest! Great work Michael Morpurgo! I Love It!
Review 3 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brenda Hodgetts
Location:Walsall England
Perfection...
15 November 2009
I believe that whilst this book retains a 'childish' theme, yet it still consists of a good story. It is actually 'unputdownable' considering that it is short. I liked the book despite my age (15)
Review 4 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matthew Toal
13 April 2009
A must read book. You just can't put it down. Kensuke's Kingdom is fantastic, brilliant and exciting all rolled into one.
Review 5 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
libby gargett
02 February 2009
I adore this book. Michael Morpurgo writes books that in my opinion are a bit dull, but this book is something different. I read it in Year 5 and ever since it's been read continously. It's just the kind of book you have to read.
Review 6 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris Brook, WATERSTONE'S LUTON
11 May 2008
I remember reading this for study just before I moved up to high school and not being particularly taken with it, but coming back to it a few years later to it made me appreciate how very good this book really is.It may not be very long, but the ideas and themes broached in the book are handled fantastically. I love the writing style and it pleases me to hear from the many people, both children and adults, who buy Michael Morpurgo that this is one of their favourite books by him. I think I will have to agree with them on that count and recommend that everyone should read this book, regardless of age.
Review 7 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Julian Humphrey, WATERSTONE'S WAKEFIELD
24 April 2008
This is a lovely, lovely book for children that can be enjoyed by adults also. A simple yet moving tale of a young boy alone on a Pacific island who is befriended by a quiet stranger. Wonderful.
Review 8 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jack lattimore
15 June 2007
Quite a good book.Its quite exiting ,Qute easy to read and genrally a good book.
Review 9 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jack lattimore
15 June 2007
Quite a exiting book.A genrally good book.Its quite easy to read so you can get thourough it quickly.
Review 10 for Kensuke's Kingdom
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracy Whitlock, WATERSTONE'S ASHFORD
03 June 2007
11 year old Michael's family are off on the trip of a lifetime, sailing round the world. 'Suddenly he finds himself in the water and washed up on a pacific island. All alone with no food or water he waits for his fate'. A riveting story of friendship and survival by the childrens Laureate- A modern day classic