Shop now at Waterstones
Modern & contemporary fiction or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Random Acts of Heroic Love

Leo Deakin wakes up in a hospital somewhere in South America, his girlfriend Eleni is dead and Leo doesn't know where he is or how Eleni died. Moritz Daniecki is a fugitive from a Siberian POW camp separated him from his village and his sweetheart. The author paints a dramatic portrait of two men sustaining their lives through the memory of love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Review 1 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah Sibley, WATERSTONE'S BRENTFORD
24 March 2009
This is one of the strangest books I've ever read. There are two main characters living in different times and different countries. One character's story is told in the first person, the other in third person. And at the end they collide together with a connection that you would never guess. Reading this book was like picking up one book and reading a few chapters, then putting it down and reading another book of a different genre for a few pages, then reading the first one again, then finding out that there was a connection between the two the whole time. And I absolutely loved it. A revolutionary piece of literature that everyone should read at some point. Outstanding.
Review 2 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andrea Howarth-Salazar
22 February 2009
It is very readable with excellent evocation of time and place. The main characters are very believable and the pace and tension are maintained throughout the story. I enjoyed the clever interlacing of past and present stories. I literally could not put this book down.
Review 3 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kerri Green, WATERSTONE'S ISLE OF WIGHT
27 January 2009
I love this book from the 1st page to the last!A wonderfully rich, insightful and wrenchingly emotional novel about love and discovery.Danny Scheinmann's first novel - I'm hoping there will be more to follow!
Review 4 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlotte Roser
27 October 2008
I took this book out my school library. It is phenominal literature at its best. It's such a feel good, absorbing romance. It's number 1 on my christmas list and i'm basing my english coursework on it, it's one of the best books I've ever read. I would reccomend it to anyone who is a real romantice-you'll LOVE it!
Review 5 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Triona Joyce, WATERSTONE'S COVENT GARDEN
27 August 2008
This exceptional book consists of two intertwined stories. One story, set in the present time, tells of a young man's struggle to come to terms with the death of his girlfriend while the other, which is set during the Great War, follows another young man who is kept alive by his love for the girl he left behind.
Review 6 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hattie Frazer
10 June 2008
This book was remarkable, an amazing account of the first world war and amazing to think that the author drew on his grandfather's own experience and based on his own story of a journey taken! It had me gripped throughout and I felt unable to put it down.It was touching, compelling, thought provoking and really beautifully written. I cannot wait till he writes another book.
Review 7 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amina El-Sayed, WATERSTONE'S TWICKENHAM
23 April 2008
What a gripping and moving book! This is a novel based around the notion of Love, and it is conveyed through the eyes of two men who tell their individual story about the urgency, passion and longing to be re-united with their loved one. At times the novel can be very harrowing with its descriptions and events. However, it is so moving that after you have put the book down, all you can think about is what will happen next for the characters. They remain constantly in your head and the need to find out what their future holds is overpowering that you soon devour the book in a matter of days. A beautiful story about Love and the levels that some people will go to are quite incredible. Highly recommended
Review 8 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paul Maynard
31 January 2008
This story grips you from the start, an evocative hike through time and history examining the relationship between love and life, loss and grief. It has you from the start and means you won't want to put it down until you've finsished. A moving story. Whatever you do this year, buy this book and love every page because it will be made all the better when you read the epilogue.
Review 9 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Samantha Holt, WATERSTONE'S WIGAN
28 January 2008
A brilliant story about a young man whose girlfriend dies tragically and how he comes to terms with the tragedy and grief. Also the story of Moitz who walks across Russia to be with the woman he loves and how beautifully the two stories come together - a must read!
Review 10 for Random Acts of Heroic Love
Reviews (10)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jane Stanton
03 January 2008
This book has been beautifully written and I was unable to put it down until I had finished it. Hence a very quiet day and a half in my house.The story is interwoven very well with the past and the present. The trouble was I just wanted to know the outcome of each story rather than have the author keep jumping backwards and forwards in time. The book was very moving and for me, very thought provoking. I finished the book with a real feeling of hope. I would recommend it to everyone and I am sure that I shall read it again sometime.