Shop now at Waterstones
Thrillers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Sugar & Spice

An American Editor said: 'Outstanding - compares well to any P.D. James novel.' Sugar & Spice is the UK #1 best-selling, controversial crime thriller the agents called 'the last taboo'. The 11th best-selling ebook in the UK of 2011. Based on research and details from the case of notorious murderer, Robert Black and his capture, Sugar & Spice was deemed 'Too controversial for the British market.' Over a quarter of a million readers thought otherwise. Would you trust a convicted sex offender to help you find your daughter's killer? Claire did...Inspired by a news story of a man who begged a Judge to give him a longer sentence, because he knew he would harm again if released without treatment, Sugar & Spice is meticulously researched, asking the questions society prefers not to have answered. At once disquieting and challenging, Sugar & Spice is car-crash reading. Be warned: In Sugar & Spice not all things are nice... Everyone has demons...
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 out of 12(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sugar & Spice
Review 1 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ranger21
Location:Devon England
Age:75
Exceptional. Thought provoking.
19 January 2013
I found so much to learn and think about in this gripping book. Not an easy read and the subject is distasteful but, if you can set that aside, you will learn a lot and enjoy the journey.
Well researched and far-reaching.
Review 2 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlotte Lou
Location:Stevenage
Age:31
Loved it
24 February 2012
An amazingly researched and brave book, reaching into the realms so many Thriller writers are too scared to go.
This book is certainly for the open-minded and you will either love it or hate it. I read many crime novels and came across this book with intrigue, could someone really write a book about a paedophilia, which hasn't been written before? Yes... Saffina Desforges has taken a brilliant story line which in the world we live could unfortunately be a reality and sat on the fence, allowing us an insight in to both worlds... the innocent and the sick and twisted. A brilliant read from start to finish. Thank you Saffina for educating me on a taboo subject and bringing it to the forefront of crime thrillers.
Review 3 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dizzybird1
Location:Lowestoft
Age:33
AN ABSOLUTE MUST READ!!!!
10 January 2012
If you are going to buy one ebook this year you have to make it this one!!!!!!!! I was told about it by a colleague so myself and several other members of our team brought it and i am not exagerating when i say i did not put it down without a struggle, it is mind griibbing. 6/7 of my collegues read it at the same time as me and everyone of us had finished it within 3 days!!!!!! i have also not been able to get into another book but have now brought Snow White from this author so hopefully that will be a gripping.
Anybody that has given bad reviews about this book clearly are very closed minded.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The moonraker
Location:Northern England
Age:67
Dreadful
04 December 2011
Inaccuratein law, nasty to other professions - have wiped all her books from my e-reader. Obviously hates all social workers and has no knowledge re child safety law and uses her ignorance to batter other professions. Poorly researched.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dizzy77
amazing
28 November 2011
picked this up as a read for my new ereader, thinking it was a cheap book, its one of the best ive read in ages, cound not put it down finished it in 3 days!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shona Mercy
Location:Shropshire
Great Value
22 November 2011
I'm not usually a crime fiction fan. I seem to get half way through and think: I really don't care whodunnit, and never finish. To be honest I picked this book for a couple of reasons:
A the Price, B the "blurb" made it sound interesting.
The story left me pleasantly surprised. So much so I downloaded "Snow White" the authors other book.
All in all a good read, interesting plot twists (I did guess a few - sorry Ms Desforges) The characters were well written, and even gave me a feeling of sympathy towards a couple of the paedophiles! Just helps to show people are people despite the labels given to us. The end did feel a little rushed but that didn't spoil spoil an enjoyable read.
Don't let the price put you off, this is a full novel, not some half-baked short story.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LarLar
Location:South west England
17 October 2011
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 8 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reddit
Location:Kent
Age:55
Hard to swallow, but gripping!
23 September 2011
This book is best read through your fingers! It is very hard to stomach but impossible to put down.
The research is in-depth and it delves into a mind that not many people want to see into.
Harrowing, but brilliantly written and keeps you turning the pages until the very end. Great! (I think!)
Review 9 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Caterham
Location:London, UK
Ground-breaking!
23 September 2011
Now and then you come across a book that take a tired old concept - in this case a serial killer stalking little kids - and turns it on its head, to produce something truly original.
Not since The Silence Of The Lambs has anything in the crime thriller genre come close to warranting the term ground-breaking.
Until now.
Sugar & Spice takes us on a roller-coaster ride of emotions, at once appalling yet mesmerising in its subject matter. It takes apart the mind of the paedophile and reassembles it in three different characters, only one of which is the killer.
And therein lies the true depth and beauty of this novel.
For while the mother of a murdered child seeks, and eventually succeeds, in bringing the killer to justice, two innocent men pay the price along the way.
Only, neither are innocent. So why do we feel for them? Care about them? Dare I say, trust them?
If you want gory detail of post-mortems, stick with Scarpetta. If it's plodding police detectives, Morse is your man. If you like the mystery to be solved with high-tech forensics, go back to CSI:Miami. This is unlike anything else out there.
And written in a unique style that just drags you through the pages by your hair, defying you to take a break. And on those odd moments when you dare put it down you are left with questions you wish you hadn't been asked, that taunt you, compelling you to read on.
Review 10 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
franciebrady
Location:Dublin
Psychology lesson
20 September 2011
Leaving the subject matter aside, Ms Desforges manages to employ every crime genre from Murder She wrote to Shelly's Frankenstein. Mix this with this lot with an over dose of first year forensic psychology lectures and voila you have a novel of sorts.I suspect this one got to the publishers based on the 'taboo' subject and not a lot else.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOODSY
Location:North East England
Age:50
Gripping, disturbing, brave and well-written
13 August 2011
Warning, read this through your fingers! Makes you think about things you don't want to. Clever, compelling and impossible to put down. Up there with the best this year. A stunning debut. Watch out for Saffina Desforges.
Brilliant.
Review 12 for Sugar & Spice
Reviews (12)
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rita
Location:Sheffield
Age:47
Loved it, could'nt put it down
26 July 2011
Could'nt put it down. Looking forward to Saffina's next one